Brazil - Minas Gerais - Second Level

Year   Winner                               Runner-up
1917   Flamengo (Belo Horizonte)
1918   unknown
1919   unknown
1920   Ipanema (Belo Horizonte)             Hellênico (Belo Horizonte)
1921   Progresso (Belo Horizonte)
1922   Palmeiras (Belo Horizonte)	    Ipanema (Belo Horizonte)
1923   Guarany (Belo Horizonte)
1924   not played
1925   not played
1926   not played
1927   Grêmio Calafate (Belo Horizonte)     Carlos Prates (Belo Horizonte)
1928   Santa Cruz (Belo Horizonte)          Grêmio Calafate (Belo Horizonte)
1929   Fluminense (Belo Horizonte)
1930   Fluminense (Belo Horizonte)          Ypiranga S.C. (Belo Horizonte)
1931   Carlos Prates (Belo Horizonte)       Alves Nogueira (Sabará)
1932A  Prado Mineiro (Belo Horizonte)
1932L  Siderúrgica (Sabará)		    Palmeiras (Belo Horizonte)

1961   Itaú E.C. (Itaú de Minas)            Ferroviário (Divinópolis)
1962   Uberlândia (Uberlândia)              Palmeirense (Ponte Nova)
1963   Nacional (Uberaba)                   Itaúna (Itaúna)
1964   Valeriodoce (Itabira)                Araguari (Araguari)
1965   Formiga (Formiga)                    Ferro Brasileiro (Caeté)
1966   Araxá (Araxá)                        USIPA (Ipatinga)
1967   Independente (Uberaba)               Alfenense (Alfenas)
1968   Villa do Carmo (Barbacena)           Trespontano (Três Pontas)

1969   Group A: Acesita (Timóteo)           Cassimiro de Abreu (Montes Claros)
       Group B: unknown
       Group C: unknown
       Group D: Flamengo (Varginha)         Caldense (Poços de Caldas)

Note: from 1961 to 1968 the second level was called First Division and
the first level, Extra Division. In 1969, the Access Division was the
second level, and the First Division was the third.

1970-1976   not played

In this period the second level was not played because "Promotion Law" (Lei do Acesso)
had been revoked by CND (National Sports Council). The Promotion Law returned in 1976
and, thus, state championships could again have promotion between divisions.

1977   Araxá  (Araxá)                       Fluminense (Araguari)
1978   Nacional (Uberaba)                   Democrata (Governador Valadares)

In 1979 and 1980 the tournament was not held because of the reduced number
of clubs that entered the 1977 and 1978 editions. Instead, clubs that did
not play in the league had the option to enter Torneio Incentivo. In 1980,
the league gathered all clubs of that year's Taça Minas Gerais, in a
league that presented a short preliminary phase. The eliminated clubs
entered Torneio da Esperança, which awarded four spots to 1981 First
Division. The eliminated clubs formed the refounded second level, with the
new name of Second Division.

1981   Democrata (Sete Lagoas)              Alfenense (Alfenas)
1982   Nacional (Uberaba)                   Fluminense (Araguari)
1983   Tupi (Juiz de Fora)                  Alfenense (Alfenas)
1984   Fabril (Lavras)                      XV de Novembro (Uberlândia)
1985   Esportivo (Passos)                   Caldense (Poços de Caldas)
1986   Atlético (Três Corações)             Rio Branco (Andradas)
1987   Minas (Boa Esperança)                Sport (Juiz de Fora)
1988   Flamengo EC (Varginha)               Pouso Alegre (Pouso Alegre)
1989   Juventus (Divinópolis)               Paraisense (São Sebastião do Paraíso)
1990   Araxá (Araxá)                        Patrocinense (Patrocínio)
1991   Mamoré (Patos de Minas)              URT (Patos de Minas)
1992   Atlético (Três Corações)             Alfenense (Alfenas)
1993   Araguari (Araguari)                  Unaí (Unaí)

Until 1992, the Second Division championship promoted its best teams to
the First Division. In the second semester of 1993, to reduce the number
of teams in the first level from 22 to 12, all the clubs that were not 
disputing any level of the Brazilian Championship played the Supercopa 
Minas Gerais, that qualified 8 teams to the 1994 First Division. 
The champions and runner-up of Second Division 1993 were promoted to
1994 Módulo II - that is, in practice they remained in second level.
Since 1994, the First Division is divided in two groups. The "Módulo I"
is the real first level, and the "Módulo II" functions as a second level.

Year   Winner                               Runner-up
1994   Rio Branco (Andradas)                URT (Patos de Minas)
1995   Villa Nova (Nova Lima)               Paraisense (São Sebastião do Paraíso)
1996   Social (Coronel Fabriciano)          Montes Claros (Montes Claros)
1997   Ipiranga (Manhuaçu)                  Nacional (Uberaba)
1998   Rio Branco (Andradas)                URT (Patos de Minas)
1999   Uberlândia (Uberlândia)              Ipatinga (Ipatinga)
2000   Mamoré (Patos de Minas)              Guarani (Divinópolis)
2001   Tupi (Juiz de Fora)                  Nacional (Uberaba)
2002   Guarani (Divinópolis)                Social (Coronel Fabriciano)
2003   Uberaba (Uberaba)                    Valeriodoce (Itabira)
2004   Ituiutaba (Ituiutaba) [1]            Democrata (Sete Lagoas)
2005   Democrata (Governador Valadares)     Uberlândia (Uberlândia)
2006   Rio Branco (Andradas)                Tupi (Juiz de Fora)
2007   Social (Coronel Fabriciano)          Uberaba (Uberaba)
2008   América (Belo Horizonte)             Uberlândia (Uberlândia)
2009   Ipatinga (Ipatinga)                  Caldense (Poços de Caldas)
2010   Guarani (Divinópolis)                Mamoré (Patos de Minas) [2]
2011   Boa Esporte (Varginha) [1]           Nacional (Nova Serrana)
2012   Araxá (Araxá)                        Tombense (Tombos)
2013   URT (Patos de Minas)                 Minas Futebol (Sete Lagoas)
2014   Mamoré (Patos de Minas)              Democrata (Governador Valadares)
2015   Uberlândia (Uberlândia)              Tricordiano (Três Corações)
2016   Democrata (Governador Valadares)     América (Teófilo Otoni)
2017   Patrocinense (Patrocínio)            Boa Esporte (Varginha)
2018   Guarani (Divinópolis)                Tupynambás (Juiz de Fora)
2019   Coimbra (Contagem)                   Uberlândia (Uberlândia)
2020   Pouso Alegre (Pouso Alegre)          Athletic Club (São João del Rei) 
2021   Villa Nova (Nova Lima)               Democrata (Governador Valadares)
2022   Democrata (Sete Lagoas)              Ipatinga (Ipatinga)
2023   Itabirito (Itabirito)                Uberlândia (Uberlândia)

 [1] In 2011, Ituiutaba EC changed its name to Boa Esporte Clube and moved to Varginha,
following their promotion to Brazilian Série B and subsequent need of a stadium with
a 10.000 spectators capacity. No stadia in Ituiutaba had such capacity. The mayor of
Varginha, that has such a stadium, offered then a sponsorship to the team, which accepted
it, moved to the town and switched its name.
[2] Mamoré had their promotion annulled because they used an irregular player in a second
phase match. Therefore, Funorte inherited the promotion spot.

list of champions (1st level)

list of champions (3rd level)

About this document

Thanks to Placar, Federação Mineira de Futebol, Santiago Reis and Wagner Augusto (Almanaque do Villa Nova).

Prepared and maintained by Paulo Torres, Henrique Ribeiro, Claudio Freati and Vítor Dias for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation and RSSSF Brazil

Authors: Paulo Torres (, Henrique Ribeiro (, Claudio Freati ( and Vítor Dias (
Last updated: 12 Aug 20232.

(C) Copyright Paulo Torres, Henrique Ribeiro, Claudio Freati and Vítor Dias, RSSSF and RSSSF Brazil 2000-2023.
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.