Brazil - Second Division Champions

In 1968, CBD took over the organization of Roberto Gomes Pedrosa tournament
and created, apart from this tournament, the Centro-Sul and Norte-Nordeste cups.

Copa Centro-Sul champions

1968 - Grêmio de Esportes Maringá (Maringá-OR)
1969 - not finished
1970 - not disputed

Copa Norte-Nordeste champions

1968 - Sport Club do Recife (Recife-PE)
1969 - Ceará Sporting Club (Fortaleza-CE)
1970 - Fortaleza Esporte Clube (Fortaleza-CE)

In 1968, Grêmio Maringá and Sport played each other in a play-off which
can be considered as the "final of the unofficial 1968 second level".
In 1969 and 1970, since there wasn't a Copa Centro-Sul champion, this
"final" was not held.

1968 - Grêmio Maringá  3-0  3-0  Sport (6-0 agg)
1969 - not played (Copa Centro-Sul not finished)
1970 - not played (Copa Centro-Sul not disputed)

In 1971, when CBD extended the right of participation to any interested
state of Brazil and turned the Roberto Gomes Pedrosa tournament into the
Campeonato Brasileiro, the Centro-Sul and Norte-Nordeste cups became the
regional zones of the official Brazilian Second Level. So, the Centro-Sul
and Norte-Nordeste cups played from 1968 to 1970 can be considered, in
some sense, predecessors of the Brazilian Second Level, just like the
Roberto Gomes Pedrosa is considered the precursor of the Brazilian First

Official Brazilian (organised/recognized by CBF and CBD) Second Level champions

1971 - Villa Nova Atlético Clube (Nova Lima)
1972 - Sampaio Corrêa Futebol Clube (São Luís)

Because there was no performance-based criterion defining the teams in 
the first level, there was no promotion or relegation.  Between 1973 and 
1979 teams were invited to play at the 1st level based mainly on political 
criteria, and no 2nd division was disputed.

1980 - Londrina Esporte Clube (Londrina-PR)
1981 - Guarani Futebol Clube (Campinas-SP)
1982 - Campo Grande Atlético Clube (Rio de Janeiro-RJ)
1983 - Clube Atlético Juventus (São Paulo-SP)
1984 - Uberlândia Esporte Clube (Uberlândia-MG)
1985 - Tuna Luso Brasileira (Belém-PA)
1986 -   not disputed [*]
1987 -   not disputed [**]
1988 - Associação Atlética Internacional (Limeira-SP)
1989 - Clube Atlético Bragantino (Bragança Paulista-SP)	[currently Red Bull Bragantino]
1990 - Sport Club Recife (Recife-PE)
1991 - Paysandu Sport Club (Belém-PA)
1992 - Paraná Clube (Curitiba-PR)
1993 -   not disputed
1994 - Esporte Clube Juventude (Caxias do Sul-RS)
1995 - Clube Atlético Paranaense (Curitiba-PR)	[currently C Athlético P]
1996 - União São João Esporte Clube (Araras-SP)
1997 - América Futebol Clube (Belo Horizonte-MG)
1998 - Sociedade Esportiva Gama (Brasília-DF)
1999 - Goiás Esporte Clube (Goiânia-GO)
2000 - not disputed  [***]
2001 - Paysandu Sport Club (Belém-PA)
2002 - Criciúma Esporte Clube (Criciúma-SC)
2003 - Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras (São Paulo-SP)
2004 - Brasiliense Futebol Clube (Brasília-DF)
2005 - Grêmio Foot-Ball Porto Alegrense (Porto Alegre-RS)
2006 - Clube Atlético Mineiro (Belo Horizonte-MG)
2007 - Coritiba Foot Ball Club (Curitiba-PR)
2008 - Sport Club Corinthians Paulista (São Paulo-SP)
2009 - Clube de Regatas Vasco da Gama (Rio de Janeiro-RJ)
2010 - Coritiba Foot Ball Club (Curitiba-PR)
2011 - Associação Portuguesa de Desportos (São Paulo-SP)
2012 - Goiás Esporte Clube (Goiânia-GO)
2013 - Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras (São Paulo-SP)
2014 - Joinville Esporte Clube (Joinville-SC)
2015 - Botafogo de Futebol e Regatas (Rio de Janeiro-RJ)
2016 - Atlético Clube Goianiense (Goiânia-GO)
2017 - América Futebol Clube (Belo Horizonte-MG)
2018 - Fortaleza Esporte Clube (Fortaleza-CE)
2019 - Red Bull Bragantino (Bragança Paulista-SP)
2020 - Associação Chapecoense de Futebol (Chapecó-SC)
2021 - Botafogo de Futebol e Regatas (Rio de Janeiro-RJ)
2022 - Cruzeiro Esporte Clube (Belo Horizonte-MG)
2023 - Esporte Clube Vitória (Salvador-BA)

For more information see the second and third division history.

Palmares - only official championships

 2 América-MG, Botafogo, Coritiba, Goiás, Palmeiras, Paysandu, Red Bull Bragantino
 1 Athlético-PR, Atlético-GO, Atlético-MG, Brasiliense, Campo Grande-RJ, Chapecoense, 
   Corinthians, Criciúma, Cruzeiro, Fortaleza, Gama, Grêmio, Guarani, Internacional-SP,
   Joinville, Juventude, Juventus-SP, Londrina, Paraná, Portuguesa, Sampaio Corrêa,
   Sport Recife, Tuna Luso, Uberlândia, União São João, Vasco da Gama, Villa Nova-MG, Vitória

10 São Paulo
 6 Minas Gerais
 5 Paraná
 4 Rio de Janeiro
 3 Goiás, Pará, Santa Catarina
 2 Distrito Federal, Rio Grande do Sul
 1 Bahia, Ceará, Maranhão, Pernambuco

[*] Next to the main groups (A to D) of the 1st phase, a Parallel Tournament (see the file on
    1986 championship) was disputed with the teams divided into four groups (E to H).
    Treze Futebol Clube (Campina Grande), Central Sport Club (Caruaru), Associação Atlética
    Internacional (Limeira) and Criciúma Esporte Clube (Criciúma) were the group champions and
    could be considered second division champions of 1986.
[**] Next to the Green, the Yellow Module (see the file on Brazilian champions) was disputed.
     Sport Club do Recife (Recife) is often computed as second division champions of 1987.
     However, CBF stated that, in that 1987 championship, there would NOT be an official
     characterization of any module as First, Second or Third level.
[***] Paraná Clube won the Yellow Module, equivalent to the 2nd level. This, however, is not an
      official title. See the Copa João Havelange file for better information.

Athlético-PR, Atlético-MG, Botafogo, Corinthians, Coritiba, Cruzeiro, Grêmio, Guarani, Palmeiras, Sport Recife and Vasco da Gama are the clubs that have won both the first and second division championships. Sampaio Corrêa is the club that has been both second, third and fourth division champions. América-MG, Brasiliense, Joinville, Red Bull Bragantino, Tuna Luso Brasileira and União São João are the clubs that have been both second and third division champions.

list of topscorers

winning coaches

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Julio Bovi Diogo and Ricardo FF Pontes for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation and RSSSF Brazil.

Authors: Julio Bovi Diogo ( and Ricardo FF Pontes (
Last updated: 22 Nov 2023.

(C) Copyright Julio Bovi Diogo, Ricardo FF Pontes, RSSSF and RSSSF Brazil 1996/2022.
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.