Brazil - List of Winners Torneio Roberto Gomes Pedrosa

The former Rio-São Paulo Tournament was officially named "Torneio Roberto
Gomes Pedrosa" since 1954, in hommage to the former goalkeeper of Brazil
National Team and president of São Paulo State FA, who died that year.
In 1967, the tournament promoters (São Paulo State and Guanabara State FAs)
invited clubs from Minas Gerais, Paraná and Rio Grande do Sul. The name
"Rio-São Paulo Tournament" was obviously abandoned and the new tournament
was only referred as "Roberto Gomes Pedrosa" or "Robertão".
In 1968, the tournament turned to be organized by CBD (the Brazilian FA),
which invited clubs from Bahia and Pernambuco and created a silver trophy
to be offered to the champions (hence, the tournament was also referred
as "Taça de Prata").
1967-Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras (São Paulo-SP)
1968-Santos Futebol Clube (Santos-SP)
1969-Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras (São Paulo-SP)
1970-Fluminense Futebol Clube (Rio de Janeiro-RJ)
In 1971, CBD extended the right of participation to any interested state of
Brazil and turned the tournament into the Campeonato Brasileiro, the first
ever competition to officially award to their winners the title of "Brazilian

2 Palmeiras
1 Santos and Fluminense

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Ricardo Pontes for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation and RSSSF Brazil

Author: Ricardo Pontes (
Last updated: 30 Mar 2008

(C) Copyright Ricardo Pontes, RSSSF and RSSSF Brazil 1998/2008
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.