Copa Norte-Nordeste -- List of Champions

Unofficial Cups

1946 - Fortaleza Esporte Clube (Fortaleza-CE)
1947 - Moto Club (São Luís-MA)
1948 - Esporte Clube Bahia (Salvador-BA)
1951 - Esporte Clube Ypiranga (Salvador-BA)
1952 - Clube Náutico Capibaribe (Recife-PE)

Official Norte-Nordeste Cup (organized by CBD)

In 1968, CBD assumed the organization of Roberto Gomes Pedrosa tournament
and created, aside this tournament, the Centro-Sul and Norte-Nordeste cups.

1968 - Sport Club do Recife (Recife-PE)
1969 - Ceará Sporting Club (Fortaleza-CE)
1970 - Fortaleza Esporte Clube (Fortaleza-CE)

In 1971, when CBD extended the right of participation to any interested
state of Brazil and turned the Roberto Gomes Pedrosa tournament into the
Campeonato Brasileiro, the Centro-Sul and Norte-Nordeste cups became the
official Brazilian Second Level. So, the Centro-Sul and Norte-Nordeste
cups can be considered, in some sense, predecessors of the Brazilian
Second Level, just like the Roberto Gomes Pedrosa is considered the
precursor of the Brazilian First Level.

About this document

Thanks to Carlos Alberto Franco Jr. (

Prepared and maintained by Ricardo Pontes and Marcos Pinheiro for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation and RSSSF Brazil

Authors: Ricardo Pontes and Marcos Pinheiro
Last updated: 29 Oct 2008

(C) Copyright Ricardo Pontes, Marcos Pinheiro, RSSSF and RSSSF Brazil 1998/2008
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.