Rio de Janeiro - Rio de Janeiro State League 1924

1st Championship

AMERICA Football Club (Niterói)
ARARIGBOYA Football Club (Niterói)
BARRETO Football Club (Niterói)
BYRON Football Club (Niterói)
CANTO DO RIO Football Club (Niterói)
GUARANY Football Club (Niterói)
NEVES Athletico Club (Niterói)
NICTHEROYENSE Football Club (Niterói)
ODEON Football Club (Niterói)
YPIRANGA Football Club (Niterói)

Champions: Byron F.C.

Obs: From 1915 to 1925 the championship of Liga Sportiva Fluminense,
the official state federation, was the official state competition,
though many fonts list them simply as Niterói city championship.

In order to please the countryside clubs, LSF organized another championship
in 1924 between the state champion Byron, Petrópolis city champion Petropolitano
and Campos city champion Campos.

2nd Championship

Byron Football Club (Niterói)
Campos Athletic Association (Campos)
Petropolitano Football Club (Petrópolis)

[Mar 29/1925]
Petropolitano   2-1   Campos [*]
[*] This match would originally be a friendly between the 1924 champions of Campos and 
Petrópolis, valid for the Taça Dr. Noronha Santos. One day before the match, Liga Sportiva
Fluminense turned it into the semifinal of the I Campeonato Fluminense - 1924. The Taça Dr.
Noronha Santos was still valid for this match.

[Apr 19/1925]
Byron           0-WO   Petropolitano [**]
[**] Petropolitano asked to postpone the match; Byron declared champions of LSF's I 
Campeonato Fluminense.


1925 (Rio de Janeiro state league)

1928 (Niterói city league)

list of champions (Rio de Janeiro state league)

list of champions (Niterói city league)

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Auriel de Almeida for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation and RSSSF Brazil

Author: Auriel de Almeida (
Last updated: 22 Oct 2008

(C) Copyright Auriel de Almeida, RSSSF and RSSSF Brazil 2007/2008
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.